Please wait...

The British List

The British List

The BOU maintains the British List, the official list of wild birds records in Great Britain (England, Scotland and Wales and associated waters). The List is managed by the BOU’s Records Committee (BOURC).

Each species on the List is assigned to a species category. Only those species in Categories A, B and C form the British List.

The British List (simple list form, 16 May 2016)
This list is maintained between full checklist editions (latest is 8th edition (June 2013) – see below) and include changes published in BOURC reports (up to and including the latest report – see here).

The British List (8th Edition) (Full checklist format, June 2013)
These checklist editions are only published every five or so years. Changes to the List between editions are published in BOURC reports and included in the simple list (see above).

Species in Categories A, B & C

Species in Category D

Species in Category E

Category F (to follow)

The British List uses the revised taxonomic treatment and sequence for grebes and passerines and other changes to the List adopted in the BOURC’s 38th report and other sequence changes in subsequent reports.

The last published version of The British List is –

The British List: a checklist of the birds of Britain (8th Edition) (June 2013)

Recommended citation:
British Ornithologists' Union. 2013. The British List: A Checklist of Birds of Britain (8th edition). Ibis 155: 635-676.


The BOU and bird names


English and scientific names - 1923 to 2012 (Excel file)

£0.000 items